Why in the world?

Pages: 12
Well here it is. The simplest of simples wont compile. Im using wxDev-C++. When I try to compile this I get the message "Why in the world would you want to compile an empty project"? Mike.

#include <iostream>

int main();
int main()
{
std::cout << "Hello World!\n";
return 0;
}
Ah... The good 'ol beginner projects... I got those when i started programming, with Microsoft Visual C++, which is somewhat like wxDev-C++.

Anyway, it requires you (atleast i think so) to create a new project for every new application you're coding, and i'm guessing you have a project, without a source file.

I don't want to lure you into bad habits, and what i am going to suggest may very well be one. But i'd recommend using the regular Bloodshed Dev-C++ - even though it's rather not-updated.

It's up to the latest C98 ISO standard, and people mostly complain about it because you have to set some options to get good indendation. But i'd say it's excellent for beginners, and is still used widely in schools that teach programming.

With the regular Dev-C++, you will jsut have to create a new file, enter the code, then compile and run it. That's it, no more huzzle-buzzle needed, like with Visual studio or wxDev.

I would gladly help you with any problems you would encounter with it, that is if you decide to use it instead.

Anyway, here's the link:
http://bloodshed-dev-c.en.softonic.com/
Last edited on
Ah yes, code::blocks is also nice... It requires you to create projects for each application ( i think?) but it's relatively easier to use than wx/visual studio :>