Why are my or operators not working?

Hey guys i am very new to c++and started doing some of the beginner projects found on this forum. in the following code. can someone explain to me why i can not get the operators to work in this loop. i have looked far and wide and can not seem to find an answer to why this isn't working correctly. please help!

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int (x);
int chance=0;

std::cout<<"****Welcome to the Number Game****\nInstructions: Enter any
 number you like, except for the number 5.\n""If you enter the number 5 you will 
automatically Lose. Lets see how long you Last\n";

while(x!=5 || chance>10){
	   std::cout<<"Please Enter a Number \n";std::cin>>x;chance=chance+1;
}
	if(x=5){
		std::cout<<"You Broke the Rules!\nYOU LOSE!!!";
}
	else{
		std::cout<<"YOU WIN!";
}

return 0;
}
Last edited on
I have moved Brackets changed to different loops but if i remove the or operator and chance >10 it will just keep going till i hit 5 but wont work with the chance section there.
Last edited on
I guess on line 17 you actually mean if(x==5)
You can easily avoid these mistakes by setting your compiler warnings to the highest level and look at the compiler output.
The if(x==5) part works but the chance>10 part doesnt work so the else statement never runs the while loop just keeps running until you 5. also after chance does = 10 hitting 5 wont even end the loop
Last edited on
You need to think about the conditions in your while loop.
The game is over if x == 5 or chance > 10
Do you really feel comfortable in that cramped style? Well, it's truly personal, I guess:
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    std::cout << "****Welcome to the Number Game****\nInstructions: Enter any "
                 "number you like, except for the number 5.\n"
                 "If you enter the number 5 you will automatically lose.\n"
                 "Lets see how long you last!\n";

int x = 0; // not "int (x);"
    int chance = 0;