why does this simple function not work

So I'm just trying to learn C++ and Visual Studio is apparently not wanting to work for me.
What is wrong with this code?

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	if (1>3) {
		cout << "Timmy is cool"
	}

return 0;

}
NEVERMIND; I forgot to add a semi colon.

For C++ experts out there, did you make stupid mistakes like this when you first started?

And also, how long did it take you to get familiar with C++

C++ is the first language I am learning, I have basic knowledge of HTML, PHP and stuff like that but C++ is the first language I'm going to be dedicating time into
It has nothing to do with Visual Studio. Your code just doesn't make any sense.
How can 1 > 3 ??????????
well....considering "1 > 3" is a boolean checking it makes perfect sense because it return values (in this case, it is false ) although I see no purpose of the if being there
Last edited on
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	if (1>3) {
		cout << "Timmy is cool"
	}
        else {
            cout << "1 is NOT greater than 3\n";
       }

return 0;

}
No, 1>3 was just a test and I was going to make an else statement
It said 1 failed, it didn't run at all.

Also I'm now trying to make a hello world, and it also says 1 failed?
 #include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	cout << "yo\n";
	return 0;
} 

how does that not make sense?
Last edited on
yes, every expert made mistakes getting started. Mismatched {}s. Failed to include the header for the needed calls. for(); (does nothing N times because of the do-nothing ; on the end!). if(); (conditionally does nothing, then does the next block every time, ; again error). Everyone has done it. Most of us still do it once in a while, but we know how to find it fast when we goof due to experience. And compilers warn about more of this stuff than they once did.