Can someone help me with classes?

I just started learning classes through solo learn and was wondering if someone could in-depth explain them to me. I have repeated the lesson 3 times but I still do not understand. Thanks.
-Garrows

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

class myClass {
  public:
    void setName(string x) {
      name = x;
    }
    string getName() {
      return name;
    }
  private:
    string name;
};

int main() {
  myClass myObj;
  myObj.setName("John");
  cout << myObj.getName();

return 0;
}
I am horrible at in depth explanations. Though I'll try to explain with a simple example.

std::string is a class.

In your class myClass you have a function called getName().

In std::string you have the length() function.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

class myClass
{
  public:
    void setName(string x)
    {
        name = x;
    }
    string getName()
    {
        return name;
    }

private:
    string name;
};

int main()
{
    myClass myObj;

myObj.setName("John");

cout << myObj.getName(); // prints out "name" in "myClass"

return 0;
}
John

#include <iostream>
#include <string
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    string word = "word";

// prints the std::string::size_type (another class) variable storing the length
    cout << word.length();

return 0;
}
Last edited on
I can't be bothered to write a complete explanation of classes (FWIW, I'm unlikely to create any value), but maybe I can help clarifying some things given that the example you posted isn't very good.

Nobody ever seems to explain what a class actually is. Specifically, It's a definition (in the mathematical sense) of a set of things. In a rough sense, the word "class" means "category": when you write a class, you're defining a particular category. Maybe you prefer the word "type", which again can be used in a type-theoretic sense, but also as a common sense "type of thing".

Intuitively, a class describes a "kind of thing".