Tic tac toe game

closed account (4yAoLyTq)
Hi, I am a beginner in c ++, I'm now confused make tic tac toe game without using arrays and loops, but using pass by value and pass by reference.
Hello,
What have you got by now?
I'm now confused make tic tac toe game without using arrays and loops, but using pass by value and pass by reference.

did you study functions? if not you should + learn passing values by reference.

without using arrays and loops

you cant avoid using arrays and loops in a tic tac toe game how will you store the information? how will you counts turns? etc..

maybe consider making the game with keypads for example:

1|2|3
-------
4|5|6
-------
7|8|9

lets say its x's turn he can use any of the following keys 1-9 to put an x but only if the spot isn't occupied and than its o's turn and it will loop until there is a row of 3 (x's or o's) or its a tie and no one wins.

at this point don't bother with cursors that allow arrow key manipulation in console and don't bother with multi files but it can be a good practice to implement them when your base game works.
than you may consider adding a menu and a bot with difficulties (min max algorithm is most common for player vs pc)
Why would you want to make tic-tac-toe without arrays or loops? I guess this is because this is a requirement for a homework assignment, but in that case it would be appreciated if you also mentioned this and the subject of the recent lectures. As that is usually a good indicator for the desired solution.

For tic-tac-toe you will need to contain some data (the state of the 9 positions). So if you don't want to use an array, you will have to find another container. A struct, class-object or list for example.

If you don't want to use loops, have a look at using recursion.
I thinks it's possible to do it without loops and arrays but very tedious.