Copy array from pointer

Hi Everyone. I am a beginner to C++ and am trying to understand pointers and arrays. I have created a function 'myfunc' that processes an array and returns a pointer to it. The main function calls myfunc multiple times and stores the returned value to different variable. I then compare the values returned every time with each other. But, as expected, since the parent array changes, every other array pointing to it have the same elements. I tried multiple ways to do this, but no success. What can be done to preserve every instance of the array in the function? Please help

// Method 1
int* myfunc(int a)
{
    int c[20];

//performing certain operations on c

return c;
}

int main()
{
     int* a;
     int* b;
     int* d;
     int* e

a = myfunc(1);
     b = a;
     d = myfunc(2);
     e = d;

// display the elements in b and e

return 0;
}

// Method 2
int* b;
int* e;

void myfunc(int a, int* x)
{
    int c[20];

//performing certain operations on c

x = c;
}

int main()
{
     myfunc(1, b);

myfunc(2, e);

// display the elements in b and e

return 0;
}
Last edited on
closed account (LA48b7Xj)
The arrays you are defining in the functions are getting destroyed when the function ends

You can define the arrays in main and pass them into the function.

#include <iostream>

void f(int* data, const int size)
{
    for(int i=0; i != size; ++i)
        ++data[i];
}

int main()
{
    int myArray[3] = {1, 2, 3};

f(myArray, 3);

for(auto e : myArray)
        std::cout << e << ' ';
    std::cout << '\n';
}
Thanks for the reply krako.

I can see that you have defined the array myArray before passing it as an argument. In my case, the array is not yet defined, nor does it have a fixed size. The definition of the array depends on the computations performed on other arguments that I am passing.

The array in my code was not getting destroyed immediately (though, after reading your reply, I realise it should).