Random Even or Odd numbers in a given range Or Set

Hi I am new to programming and need help with coming up with a "single" statement that will print a number at random from the set of :

a) 2, 4, 6, 8, 10

b) 3, 5, 7, 9, 11

I am using a + rand ()% b formula, where a is shifting value and be is the scaling factor. I can't figure out how to modify this formula to produce only Odd or Even numbers at random. Please help.

thanks a million
rand() always returns an integer.
So 2 * rand() is always an even integer.
And 2 * rand() + 1 is always an odd integer.
Somelauw,

Thank you. I appreciate your answer. Now, I understand why being good in math is important to programmer.

Below is the solution to original problems, but now I ran into third one.

a = 2 + (2 * rand ()) %10; //random numbers from set of 2, 4, 6, 8, 10

b = 3 + (2 * rand ()) %10; //random numbers from set of 3, 5, 7, 9, 11

I need to write "single" statement for random numbers from set of 6, 10, 14, 18, 22.

c = 6 + (2 * rand ()) %18;

//I used 18 as scaling factor instead of 16 because using 16 doesn't produce 22.

Above statement produces all even numbers between 6 and 22. Now, I need to figure how to filter out 8, 12, 16, 20, but I can't seem to figure it out. I have thought of trying various mathematical operators, but unsuccessful so far. The closest I got was using:

c = ((((2 * rand ()) %18) * 2) -10);

but it produces negative numbers and number below 6. I just can't figure out what I am missing. I have a feeling it is going to be something simple, but I am just not seeing it. Please help and let me know if there is general formula to figure out these different random number creations.

thanks a million

set of 6, 10, 14, 18, 22.
c = 6 + (2 * rand ()) %18;

Well you make jumps of 4 instead of 2.
Last edited on
Somelauw,