Can someone explain this to me?

int i, j, k;
for(i = 0, j = 100; i<=j; i++, j--) k = i;

This is a C++ question I'm having difficulties with. Can someone please explain to me how I can determine the values of i,j and k? The solutions are 51,49,50 for i,j,k respectively. How did answers in that range come about?

Thanks.
Last edited on
i will count up to 50
j will count down to 50
k always = i

or did you mean something else?
so i and j would count up to 50 because i<=j. okay. so how is k determined? why do we say k=i when k is 50 and i is 51?

sorry i'm a beginner so i can't quite grasp the concept of it. thanks
closed account (48bpfSEw)
you can understand the for loop as a while loop:

int i=0;
int j=100;
int k=0;

while (i<=j) {

k=i;

i++;
   j--);
for (set value (s); condition (when does the loop stop); what happens after each loop (increment or dexcrement){

other statements;
}

so you set values of i and j to 0 and 100, you say that you want the loop to keep looping until
i <= j and with every run of the loop i is incremented by 1 and j is decremented by 1

and k is always the same as i

if you output i, j and k with every run of the loop you'll see how it works

for ( i = 0, j = 100; i <= j; i++, j--){
        k = i;
        cout << "\ti: " << i << "\tj: " << j << "\tk: " << k << endl;
        }
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
so i and j would count up to 50 because i<=j. okay. so how is k determined? why do we say k=i when k is 50 and i is 51?

The difference between the values of k and i is due to how the statements in a for loop are evaluated/executed (simplified explanation to follow):

1st - the initial value(s) are set, i = 0 and j = 100. This happens only once, the first time through the for loop.

2nd - the variable are tested for truth, i <= j. If the condition is true go to step 3. If false exit the loop.

3rd - the body of the for loop is executed, k = i.

4th - the loop variables are incremented, i++ and j--.

5th - go to step two.