New to c++ displaying file contents to console

Pages: 12
Hello, I am new to c++ and need some help understanding how a bit of code works.
I was given a segment of code:

char ch = 0;
while( infile.get( ch ) ) {

cout.put( ch );
		}

The code reads my file and displays it in the console. I understand that it is reading character by character but i do not understand how it properly outputs it in the proper format. By this i mean that where there is an enter down it properly displays it entered down. I want to add numbers to the beginning of each line so i had tried creating a counter inside of the while loop but what this did was put a number before each characyer and the formatting was messed up (everthing was on one line). This is what i had tried:

char ch = 0;
        ++count;
		cout << count;

cout.put( ch );
		}

Any help is appreciated, Thank you.
Certain characters have special meaning. The one you are looking for is called the "newline" or "linefeed" character, and it is expressed in C and C++ as '\n'.
unsigned linenum = 1;
char ch = '\n';
do {
  cout.put( ch );
  if (ch == '\n')
  {
    cout << linenum << ": ";
    linenum++;
  }
} while (infile.get( ch ));

Hope this helps.
Thanks...I have numbers but for some reason i have a weird number that appears between the number and the text in the file. The number that appears is the same .... 6A73CACC

so basicly iim getting this

1: 6A73CACC#include <vector>
2: 6A73CACC#include<iostream>
3: 6A73CACCint main (string one, string two)
4:6A73CACCif (one == two)

you get the idea..
Thanks
Post your code.

char ch = 0;
        if (ch=='\n')
		{
			cout << count << ": " << cout.put( ch ) ;
    ++count;
		}
		//else if (ch=='//')
		//{
		//	while (ch!='\n'){
		//		cout << "test";
		//	}
		//}
		else
		{
cout.put( ch );
		}