Basic Store

closed account (zUjEwA7f)
Hello! I'm a beginner, and i'm starting to get the grasp of a lot of aspects. I'm trying to make a basic store. You have $20. This $20 is changeable, meaning you can add to it (by selling or buying). Red apples cost $2 and Green apples cost $3 (Shut up, green apples are better no matter what you say)

I want a menu that will allow a semi-"userface"
Im not wanting to code any GUI as of no, this is just pure c++ console

I want the basic layout to be;

Welcome! Please purchase some items
Red Apples cost $2
Green Apples cost $3

You have $20 <---- Update based on later input

Inventory
----------
[NUMBER YOU HAVE] xRed Apples
[NUMBER YOU HAVE] xGreen Apples
----------

Buy X Red Apples <---- Be able to switch between with "W" or "S"
Buy X Green Apples

Anyways, this is as far as i can get. Im not sure how to make the rest. Thanks!
  #include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int Wallet = 20;
int RedApp_P = 2;
int GreApp_P = 3;
int UsrInputR;
int UsrInputG;

int main (){

cout << "Welcome! Please purchase some items" << endl;

cout << "Red apples cost $2" << endl << "Green apples cost $3" << endl << endl;

cout << "You have: $" << Wallet << endl;
	cout << "Inventory" << endl;
	cout << "---------------" << endl;
	cout << "Buy " << UsrInputR << " Red Apples" << endl;
	cout << "Buy " << UsrInputG << " Green Apples" << endl << endl << endl << endl;

return 0;
}
in
Last edited on
first off if you want user input you need to use cin>>userINputR;
and you shouldn't initialize wallet to $20 unless everyone in your store starts off with $20 credit.

switch statements are very good for menus. http://www.tutorialspoint.com/cplusplus/cpp_switch_statement.htm

you should also put those variables inside your main function make things a little simpler to read.
You're springing too fast. Learn if statements at least.