enum, typedef & switch/if comparison?

I got two questions:

1. Is the "enum" keyword nothing more than a typedef of "const unsigned int"?

2. Is a switch statement nothing more than a cleaner-looking way to handle a longer list of if statements? What are the benefits of using an if statement instead of switch?

Thanks in advance.
closed account (E3h7X9L8)
im not an experienced programmer to tell you a sure answer but ill try to help , this is my opinion :

>switch has some major advantages in some cases, like the implementation of duff's device which is a optimized version of a loop

send(to, from, count)
register short *to, *from; 
register count;
{
    register n = (count + 7) / 8;
    switch (count % 8) {
    case 0: do { *to = *from++;
    case 7:      *to = *from++;
    case 6:      *to = *from++;
    case 5:      *to = *from++;
    case 4:      *to = *from++;
    case 3:      *to = *from++;
    case 2:      *to = *from++;
    case 1:      *to = *from++;
            } while (--n > 0);
    }
}

>as you might have guessed , the switch statement can jump at the middle of a loop then continuing the loop till n <= 0 which gives you some major advatages in some cases
>im not saying you cant implement duff's device with if statements but then it would lose its purpose because it would lose the optimization thing

>im sure enum has some special uses but as far as i know enumerations are just a list of constant expresions, i recommend using enum because of code readability and because it gives you a better structured code
Yeah, I'm getting the impression that Switch statements are just overall better than If statements and I've never really seen any clear argument as to which situations an If statement (on the flipside) would be better.