Noob question about library source code

Consider the following:

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
	std::cout << "I am a noob.\n";
}

The "std::cout" part points to a library function, right?
I would like to view that actual source code of that function that actually puts the text on the screen for me (via the compiler). Is that possible? I'm using Visual Studio Community 2015.

So am i right in thinking that when one uses a library function, that is actually just a bit of c++ source code that's been written for you (hopefully by a C++ expert!), and is kept hidden from view (in the Visual Studio text editor) simply because it works and doesn't normally need to be seen? But actually one could, if one wanted to, view the entire source code of a solution?

So what i'm basically asking is, is there something fundamentally different from the code i write and the code (which is kept from view) that makes up library functions?
Last edited on
The "std::cout" part points to a library function, right?
No, it points to library object.

It is used by function operator<< (std::ostream&, const char*) which is implemented inside library too.

For VS Community Edition, Microsoft standard library implementation is inside VS install path in /crt/src directory.

So am i right in thinking that when one uses a library function, that is actually just a bit of c++ source code that's been written for you (hopefully by a C++ expert!), and is kept hidden from view
Yes. For non-source libraries you can use any language, not only C++, and use that library in C++.
But actually one could, if one wanted to, view the entire source code of a solution?
If library discloses its source, sure.
is there something fundamentally different from the code i write and the code (which is kept from view) that makes up library functions?