Snake C++

Hi all, came across this forum recently and seems like a good resource for me to learn and ask for help when needed, so today I joined.

Anyway, I am new to C++. I am attempting to build a ASCII style snake game and currently have been stuck for the past day or so figuring out how to get my snake to move. Quite frustrating, however I am motivated to overcome this.

So far I have wall class with a nested for loop which draws my border 20 by 30. I have this in a function which I call from my source.cpp.

The next step for me is to draw a snake on the screen, preferably within the border I have drawn. I also need to make it move. I think I need a 2D Array to do this, I have looked into fixed arrays and I know I will need to make one big enough.

I have created a very basic snake class with a 2D array within it also with two int variables, snakeX & snakeY to control its movement. I'm not quite sure where to go from here, some guidance would be great please!
Thanks in advance.
  void Wall::drawWall()
{

for (int i = 0; i < across; i++)
	{
		for (int j = 0; j < down; j++)
		{
			if (i == 0 || i == across - 1)
			{
				cout << "*";
			}
			else
			{
				if (j == 0 || j == down - 1)
					cout << "+";
			else
					cout << " ";
			}
		}
		cout << "\n";
	}
}

^ That is how I am drawing the borders currently.

Snake class code:

private:    
const int maxSnake = 1000;  
char snakeBody[maxSnake][maxSnake];

int snakeX;
	int snakeY;
Last edited on
closed account (E3h7X9L8)
1.Make a 2D array to help you store the apples and snake movements
2.Use this function to move cursor on console and print snake parts

void gotoxy( int column, int line )
  {
  COORD coord;
  coord.X = column;
  coord.Y = line;
  SetConsoleCursorPosition(
    GetStdHandle( STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE ),
    coord
    );
  }