Program crashes

I'm a fairly fresh programmer having trouble with some code I've been working on. for some reason it keeps crashing after a point in the code - this is the text that comes up in the console window:

terminate after throwing an instance of 'std::out_of_range' what <>: basic_string::compare

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.

The error seems to randomly go from being caused by a basic_string::compare _or_ a basic_string::at - both turning out to go out of range.

Below is part of the code in which stepping into it causes the application to crash.
if(str_cell_text.compare(p, str_cell_text.size(), outputline) != 0){
    // reads next cell to datastring
    while (outputline.at(p) == '<'){
    datastring.push_back(outputline.at(p));
    p++;
    }
    while (outputline.at(p) != '>'){
    p++;
    } datastring.push_back(outputline.at(p));
    p++; // << pointer at < _OR_ value of cell
    //looks for text box to snag values
    if (datastring.find(str_cell_text) != datastring.npos){
        datastring.clear();
        // reads value of <text>
        while (outputline.at(p) == '>'){
        p++;
        }
        while (outputline.at(p) != '<'){
        p++;
        }
        // value of <text> </text> stored to datastring//
        // and outputs value *repeats amount of times.
        std::cout << "Repeated rows: " << atoi(repeats.c_str());
        std::cout << " with value: " << atoi(datastring.c_str());	  //
        for(int x = 1; x <= atoi(repeats.c_str()); x++ ){
            std::cout << datastring << seperator;
        }
    }
datastring.clear();
}
else{

This is the error I get from the debugger log:
[debug]> next
[debug]49	../../../../../src/gcc-4.8.1/libgcc/../libgcc/config/i386/shmem-win32.c: No such file or directory.
[debug]Single stepping until exit from function _ZN10__cxxabiv139__shmem_grabber___unexpected_handler_shEv,
[debug]which has no line number information.