How to use modulo????

I am very new to programming and I'm struggling with understanding modulo. I get that it means remainder, but I am having trouble using it in an actual program. Here is a ounces to pounds converter. the goal is to input a number of ounces and convert that to pounds with a remainder of ounces.

#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(void)

{

cout <<"\n\t\tWelcome to the Converter Calculation Propgram!\n";

unsigned short ounces, pounds, ounces_left;

const ounces_per_pound = 16;

cout<<"\nHow many ounces do you have?";

cin>> ounces;

cin.ignore(INT_MAX, '\n');

cout<<"\nThank you!";

cout<<"\nCalculating...\n";

// How do I setup the equation here???

cout<<"\nDone.\n";

Last edited on
#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

const int OUNCES_PER_POUND = 16;

int main( void )
{
    unsigned int ounces, pounds, ounces_left;
    cout << "Welcome to the Converter Calculation Program!" << endl;
    cout << "How many ounces do you have? ";

cin >> ounces;
    cin.ignore(999, '\n');

cout << "Thank you!" << endl << "Calculating..." << endl;

pounds = ounces / OUNCES_PER_POUND;
    ounces_left = ounces % OUNCES_PER_POUND;

if( pounds == 1)
        cout << "You have " << pounds << " lb with "<< ounces_left << " ounces leftover." << endl;
    else
        cout << "You have " << pounds << " lbs with "<< ounces_left << " ounces leftover." << endl;
}

Some explanation on the code:

Line 18 - since we're using integer type variables, integer division will not have decimals, aka floats, doubles, long, etc. This gives us a nice whole number to work with when we're trying to figure out how many pounds we have.

Line 19 - modular arithmetic is basically what we all learned in elementary school. Just take out groups of x from a number y, and see what's left over. For example, if I have 33 oz. How many groups of 16 are in 33? Only 2. So you do 23 - 16*2 = 1. And there is your remainder.
Last edited on