The use of dots after numbers and division

I'm new to C++ and trying to understand someone else's code; they have a lot of dots in their code; some examples:

for (x=-5.; x<=-5/30.; x+=5/30.) {

A=A/(1.+B);

pow(10.,A)

There doesn't seem to be any consistency with the use of the dots and I can't find anything on the internet about what they do - any help much appreciated!
for (x=-5.; x<=-5/30.; x+=5/30.)

is the same as

for (x=-5; x<=-5/30; x+=5/30)

It's like the number 5 an be represented as 5.0, they both are the same value.

This code is not written well, and you should stay away from putting a . after every number. Us programmers love typing but we still try to do stuff with the least amount of keystrokes.

The dot operator calls a member of an object. You'll learn this later

object.member

(facepalm)x1000000000
Last edited on
ChajusSaib wrote:
for (x=-5.; x<=-5/30.; x+=5/30.)

is the same as

for (x=-5; x<=-5/30; x+=5/30)

No, it's not. The decimals are used to force floating point division. The second snippet uses integer division, and 5/30 in integer division is 0 - which makes that an infinite loop.
you might get a warning for precision loss ..
Hi,

When using floating point numbers (float or double) I always put digits on both side of the decimal point, as in 0.5, 5.0 , unless there is an exponent, 5e-3 say. To me, this makes it easier to see that the number is FP. Prefer to use double, unless you are using some graphics library that requires float, double is the default for c/c++. The precision of a float can be easily exceeded.

It's not a good idea to use FP numbers in loops like in the OP examples (because they are inexact), a better thing to do is to calculate how many times one needs to loop as an integer, then use that number in the loop.

Also, it is a good idea to not have magic numbers (like 5.0) in code, make them a const variable instead, then use the variable name in the code.