question about placement new

Hi I was wondering in regards to the code below, every time I compile and run, the addresses of buffer and the address of the st1 structure I have allocated to buffer with placement new do not match. I was wondering why this is. I am quite new to C++ and programming as a whole, so I may be overlooking something stupidly simple, any assistance would be appreciated

#include <iostream>
#include <new>
using namespace std;

struct chaff
{
	char dross[20];
	int slag;
};

char buffer[sizeof(chaff)];

int main()
{ 

cout << "Allocating st1 & st2 to Buffer" << endl;
	chaff * st1 = new (buffer) chaff;
	chaff * st2 = new (buffer + sizeof(char)) chaff;
	cout << "Address of Buffer : " << (void *) buffer << endl
		<< "Size of Buffer : " << sizeof(buffer) << " Bytes" << endl;
	cout << "Address of st1 : " << &st1 << endl;
	cout << "Address of st2 : " << &st2 << endl;
chaff * st2 = new (buffer + sizeof(char)) chaff;

this statement might not work due to allignment issues.

The fix of your problem:

cout << "Address of st1 : " << st1 << endl;
cout << "Address of st2 : " << st2 << endl;
That did the trick thanks for the help.
in regards to the alignment issue it would be better to use sizeof(chaff) instead of sizeof(char) yes?
Also when i was using &st1 to display address, what was the actual address that was being displayed using that operator then?
thanks
it would be better to use sizeof(chaff) instead of sizeof(char) yes?
It would be correct. Right now you have overlapping objects which leads to UB and you cannot complain if your PC will suddenly decide to fly away to warm countries.

However you still have buffer overrun problem (st2 will not fit in buffer made for one chaff object) and you still have aligment issue as it is not guaranteed that buffer is aligned properly

Proper solution: char alignas(chaff) buffer[sizeof(chaff) * 2]; //