Implemantation of Binary Search in c++

Hey Folks!I am new to c++.As self motivated project i decided to do a binary search?
This program works for key elements which are in the list provide by the user.

But the problem starts when the key elements is not in the list.It gives me an error stating that "binary.exe stopped working!".

I use Dev CPP.I also tried debugging with visual c++ .It gave an 'Unhandled excepton!Stack overflow!'
Please can anyone check my code below?
Also I welcome any criticism on the efficiency of my code!
Iam new to C++ .So iam keen on learning!Please tell me also if there is better way to write this program (without using stl)

I am SORRY if this is silly problem! I Did it without consulting a manual :)

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
using namespace std;
void search_binary(int *a,int key,int n)
{   int low=0,high = n;
	int b[13];
	for(int i=0;i<n;i++)
	{
		b[i]=a[i];
	}
	int mid = (high - low)/2;

if(key==a[mid])
	cout<<"Ha!Found "<<key<<endl;

else if(key < a[mid]){

n = (mid-low)/2;
	search_binary(a,key,n);
    }
	else if(key>a[mid])
	{
	n=(high-mid)/2;
	search_binary(a,key,n);
	}
	else if(!key)
	{
	cout<<"BOO!Not found\n";
	}

}  

void get_binary()
{  int a[13],n,i,key;
	cout<<"Please Enter the number of elements?(Keep it less than 13!)\n";
	cin>>n;
	cout<<"Enter The Elements\n";
	for(int i=0;i<n;i++)
	{
		cin>>a[i];
	}
	cout<<"Please enter the element to be searched\n";
	cin>>key;
	search_binary(a,key,n);

}

int main()
{   get_binary();
	return 0;
}
Last edited on
Line 26 says "if key is equal to 0" but you usually are not searching for 0.
Last edited on
Here are few problems I found
0. tiny problem: you declare i twice. it will waste some memories. And I dont think you should pass array a by reference since you are not changing a anyway.

1. array b is kind of wasting of space because you are not using it.