A career as a software engineer

Hello everyone!
I apologize in advance if this ins't the right place to ask this question.

Well, let's get started with a brief introduction. I'm a high school student who has always been fascinated by computers and how they work. I've decided that when I attend college I want to get a degree in software engineering. I've been learning the basics of C++ as of recently and I've learned a decent amount of things in a short time. Also, I've completed a couple of courses at the Code Academy (HTML/CSS, JS, PHP) which gave me knowledge of web development.

My question is, what is it like to work in the software industry, and what does it take to make it in the industry? Also, what are something things that I can do to be the best software engineer I can be?

Thank you for your time.
Last edited on
Be pragmatic. When you face the problem, focus on it and try to get it done. If you aren't willing to face the problem, even if you don't like it or find it hard, you will fail as software engineer.

Be curious. Learn new things, play around with technology. Software and programming knowledge are your tools, so you'd better expand your toolset as much as you can. ( here I can recommend you learning emacs and GNU/Linux + coreutils. With knowledge of shell(let's say bash) and coreutils you can complete many jobs that would otherwise require you to write some program from scratch and debug it, while with proper knowledge it takes few minutes).

Read what others have to say, criticize others, but first of all criticize yourself. Improve. As a side note, while it's not mandatory, don't be an asshole - try to write readable code, put comments where appropriate.

You can find more good tips at (google it): sloperama gamedev blog, or Joel's blog. These two are quite good.