Reading a file letter by letter into an array

Hi, I am relatively new to programming from scratch and I am encountering a problem trying to easily load ASCII art into a text based game I'm trying to make.

The way I'm trying to do it is by starting with a txt document (to allow for easy construction of the art) and writing a program that opens the file (the file location is hard coded into the program) and will read it letter by letter into an array of type char.

My "sprites" (A.k.a. ascii art) specifications are hard coded into the program as well, although I would love to find a way to automate the process of finding the dimensions (how many cells high and wide the ascii art is). Also I would like to have the array that keeps track of the chars that will be used for the ASCII art in the structure as well so I do not have to write several lines of extra code to initiate a new sprite every time I add a piece of artwork into the game. Here are the structures I am using to handle sprites along with the way I initiate them in main():
struct Pos
{
	int x;
	int y;
};

struct Size
{
	int width;
	int height;
};
struct Sprite
{
	Pos position;
	Size dimension;
	char transparent_char; //this is the character that will be used to
                               //represent transparency (the game will not
                               //draw over whatever is behind the sprite in
                               //the area that is occupied by this symbol
};

int main()
{
	Sprite smiley = {{0, 0}, {17, 8}, '$'}; //as you can see, the numbers
	                                        //for dimension are hard coded
                                                //into the game...
}

Now this is a sample of the text document I want to import (it is saved in the same folder as the program's .cpp file and is saved as smiley.txt with ANSI encoding, but that can be changed if needed):
$$$$.-""""""-.$$$$
$$.'          '.$$
$/   O      O   \$
:                :
|                |