Accessing the hardware

Hi,
I'm new in programming and I'm intersted in accessing the hardware of my computer like the parallel port, usb, com port.
Can anyone help me on how to access these ports? What are the header files do I need and to include?
An easy example could be of a help/

thanks so much
For accessing ports (serial or otherwise) you would use the asm opcodes inb and outb for input and output respectively. The problem is that you need to write a device driver to gain access to the hardware itself; or, at the very least, a program to interact with the device drivers.

You won't be able to access the hardware unless the operating system 'lets' you.

Besides; hardware access is extremely difficult to get right. You have to know how the specific piece of hardware interacts with 1. the OS and 2. the other hardware.

Edit: I have zipped the source code to 8 releases of the Linux kernel (0.1 - 2.6), minix 1, 2 and 3, and the most recent release of GNU Hurd. At some stage you can read through all that and see the different ways they have written device drivers and then learn from it.

Here: Edit: I can't upload the files right now...

Note: I would have added Free-, Net- and OpenBSD (you can see, the BSD folder is empty) but I remember last time I tried to find a download for their source code; it simply didn't work.
Last edited on
You can simply call the OS and make it do what you want with no need of low level stuff.
What is your OS?
I assumed he wanted to do it himself...
I don't think so, being in the beginner forum
Exactly. I thought he had misconceptions about the difficulty of doing such a thing. He says he wants to access a bunch of ports; which I took to mean he wants to do it himself...
Hey thanks for replying.

Bazzy, I'm using Linux Ubuntu.

I'm working on a project on how to interface my computer to a measuring machine and do some controls, simply a mini CNC. And accessing my ports is one of my challenges.