NetBeans not recognizing "cout"..Please Help!

I have not even really started to learn c++. I am still trying to setup NetBeans properly so I can practice/learn. It took me forever to get MiniGW and MSYS configured properly. Now I am trying to start following my book's tutorials and I'm stuck already. I have been trying different #include as well as several different variations like std::cout. Like I said before I am brand new at this, so please be patient. I am using NetBeans 8.0.2 on Windows 8.1.. Thanks

* File: newmain.c++
* Author: Matthew
* Created on May 31, 2015, 2:33 PM
*/

#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

/*
*/
int main(int argc, char** argv) {

return 0;
}
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
cout<<"Hello \n";
return 0
}
Last edited on
I'm not sure if it's on purpose, but you've posted two programs (neither of which uses code tags). The second one (starts at #include <iostream> ) will work if you put std:: in front of cout<< and a semi colon after return 0.
Last edited on
Your code is very very scruffy. Simply do this:

#include <iostream>

int main() {
     std::cout << "Hello\n";
     return 0;
}

If that still doesn't work, then you didn't configure Netbeans correctly. It is probably one of the more difficult ones to set up in my humble opinion.
Since you are using Windows, I would recommend VS. They do supply a completely free version.
If you are adamant on not using VS, you can try Code::Blocks.
Last edited on
As someone who's used both, I'd actually suggest starting with neither. If you can, try and get a version of Quincy as it starts completely set up and even allows you to use graphics from the get go. Personally, if you're going to go with a mainstream IDE, I'd really recommend Code::Blocks as it promotes multiplatform programming which is basically always a good thing.
Thank you for your responses. @rlc4 i tried running that and this was the result.. @shadowmouse i will download quincy now thanks.

#include <iostream>

int main()
{