New. Need help!

Hey everyone i am brand new here.
I just started doing C++ (today), i have some previous knowledge about programing (java, html) but would really like to learn c++.

This website helped me alot and i wanna thank u guys for all the info!

Ok so I use Dev-C++ and when i go to Execute>Run. A small window pops up and says that the "Project is not compiled"

what should i do?
i tried: Execute >Compile...
but it didnt work...

Thanks!
You need to compile first. There is a Compile & Run option, isn't there? Check the toolbar(s) for it by hovering over each button in the toolbar(s) or just check for it in the menus. It should be there somewhere.

Also, if that doesn't work, there is a Rebuild All option as well, if I recall correctly.
Last edited on
I tried Complie first as well as COMPILE & RUN option and even the Rebuild all option
but none of them work...nothing pops out or anything...when i click on either one of them nothing really happens...is that the way its supposed to be?

and thanx for the help buddy

Edit:
I just realized that whenever i try to COMPILE it .. it says on the bottom that "The system cannot find the file specified"
Last edited on
Make sure you have the file either in the directories that it looks at (usually there is a directory in the program's files called "header" or similar). You could alternatively link it (although I don't know how to do this in Dev-C++).
Then can u plz post a link to the program u use?
i dont really care what program to use ne more
ive been tryinta donwload and use all sorts of programs for C++

Id appreciate if do that for me
thanks a lot!
I use Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition...made by Microsoft. You can get it here:

http://www.microsoft.com/express/download/#webInstall

Go down and select your language/click download next to "Visual C++ 2008."
Oh shoot!
thats the one that weighs a lot
ive tried it already
in fact i still have the installation on my computer