How do I open a file in one routine and close it in a separate routine or is this forbidden?

Unfortunately I have many years of experience with structural programming and the lessons I have learned over the years do not translate well to object oriented programming. Purely as an exercise I want to write a routine within a class that opens and closes a file, which is simple to do. An example is posted below.

#include "Open_Close_File.h"

void Open_Close_File::Open_File()
{
    std::ifstream inp("Test.txt",std::ios::in | std::ios::binary);
    if(!inp) {
        std::cout << "Cannot Open Test.txt\n";
    }
    inp.close();
}
[code]

This code works quite well.  However, for the sake of argument lets assume that I want to close the file in a different routine than I opened it in....how do I do this in C++.  The code attached to this one is my attempt at it, but it does not recognize the inp as a keyword that defines the file and instead I think it is looking at "inp" as the data stream from the file, but I am not sure.

[code]
#include "Open_Close_File.h"

void Open_Close_File::Open_File()
{
    std::ifstream inp("Test.txt",std::ios::in | std::ios::binary);
    if(!inp) {
        std::cout << "Cannot Open Test.txt\n";
    }
    Close_File(inp);
}

void Open_Close_File::Close_File(std::istream& inp)
{
    inp.close();
}
Why close the stream at all? When the function returns to the calling function the file will be closed by the class destructor when the stream goes out of scope because the stream is local to the function.
Last edited on
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
@ jowebb123

Aside from what jlb says, which is perfectly correct, the idea you have in mind to close the file via a function passing the stream parameter is OK even if it is just as an exercise.

Don't forget you can always test whether you get it right by an extra line or two to react to whether it is open (or closed). That's another exercise in itself.