newbie: find largest number

Hello, im new in c++. im learning by myself online and from a textbook, using dev-c++ as my compiler.

right now im trying to do exercises from a textbook (C++ how to program, deitel), and currently im stuck on 2 questions.

first one, is about finding the two largest numbers out of 10 integers entered by user. here is what i got, but i think my second largest number is still wrong, and for some reason my last two couts dont print. any suggestion?

// Ex. 4.19 //

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main (){

int counter=0, num, large1=0, large2=0;

cout << "Enter an integer: ";

while (counter<10){
          cin >> num;
          if (large1 < num)
             large1 = num;
          if (large2 < num && large2 < large1)
             large2 = num;
          ++counter;

}
    cout << "Largest number: " << large1;
    cout << "\nsecond largest: " << large2;  
    cin.get();
}                                     

the second problem:
im trying to print a diamond by "*" and " "(space) using for statement. but i can't figure out the logic for it. i could print a triangle by nested for, but can't do the diamond, any clue?

Thanks!
closed account (z05DSL3A)
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int counter = 0; 
    int num = 0;
    int large1 = 0; 
    int large2 = 0;

while (counter < 10)
    {
        cout << "[" << counter << "] Enter an integer: ";  
        cin >> num;
        cin.get();  // This just clears the new line from the stream
                    // don't worry about it too much at the moment.

if (large1 < num)
        {
            large2 = large1;
            large1 = num;
        }
        else if (large2 < num )
        {
            large2 = num;
        }
        ++counter;
    }
    cout << "Largest number: " << large1 << endl;
    cout << "Second largest: " << large2 << endl;  

system("pause");
} 
Last edited on