Questions about creating a game, with HGE!

Hello!

Our class has been asked to create a game in C++, with the HGE library, now during the holidays. We got some requirements to fulfill to pass the course, which are:

* Atleast 3 classes (1 base-class and 2 inherited)
* A container (array, vector, list, etc.) that stores game event in its base form and then through polymorphism calling the right methods for updating and printing
* Collision
* Some kind of "AI" (switch case/FSM/behaviour tree... etc)

My idea is to create a game like "Catch the Beer", since it is kinda simple (I am not very good at programming, so I need something that is easy!). The character will be a crab that is trying to catch coconuts falling from the trees, into the box he is carrying. So, here are my questions:

- Is it possible to make some kind of intro before the game starts, like some snapshots with "lore"?

- Is it hard or easy to make an AI that stands in the corner of the screen, changing his mood, depending on: if I miss or catch a lot?

- Any thoughts or recommendations before I start?

If you know some good links or guides, I would be really glad if you could share them!

Thanks and have a nice day!

I recently learned about finite-state-machines, which is a great way to organize a game.

A finite-state-machine is a virtual class you create which only has one method, "run". You then make a few class which inherit from this one. Each subclass represents a different game state (splash screen, menu, playing) and has its own "run" method.