Super new at learning C++, what math should I know/be learning?

Hello. I'm very very new at C++ and trying to navigate this abstract and confusing language. I know you need math to complete a major in computer science and now I'm starting to learn how it is linked with programming, haha.

I have been going through C++ Primer Fifth Edition by Stanley B. Lippman. When the while statement was mentioned, an example of "Sum of 1 to 10 inclusive is 55" was mentioned. I understood how the code worked I think, but I tried to do the math manually (sum+val=sum, val+1=val, repeat) and did not come up with 55, so I don't know how it equals 55. Someone else asked about this on this forum and one reply said:

"So when n = 10 you get ( 10 * ( 10 + 1 ) ) / 2 = 55."

Which makes sense, if you know this formula and how it corresponds to the example. Which I didn't. How do you know what type of math to use in certain circumstances like this? I took some pre-algebra classes in my first semester in January, but I've forgotten it all since then. I'm thinking I'm going to have to learn some math if I hope to understand this language and how it operates.

So my questions:
#1: What kind of math is "Sum of x to y is"? I tried googling but couldn't come across what concept it is under. Assuming it's algebra, but which concept? So I can look it up and learn it.
#2: How do you know what type of math to use in what circumstance?
#3: What math should I be learning that is related to C++? Especially for beginners? What is most prevalent?

#include <iostream>
int main()
{
int sum = 0, val = 1;
// keep executing the while as long as val is less than or equal to 10
while (val <= 10) {
sum += val; // assigns sum + val to sum
++val; // add 1 to val
}
std::cout << "Sum of 1 to 10 inclusive is "
<< sum << std::endl;
return 0;
}
"So when n = 10 you get ( 10 * ( 10 + 1 ) ) / 2 = 55."