Question - Run multiple IF's

Greetings,

First off, hello all. I am new to the forum, but I have recently been using the site for advice. I am currently a novice at C++, so please forgive my ignorance.

Question: I am attempting to read two different lines from a .txt file, and I thought I could get away with running two IF statements in order to get the lines at the same time. Is is possible to do this? If not, is there a better way to go about doing this?

The result of the code below is that it reads the first string (str), but does not read the second IF all together, thus not grabbing my second string (str2).

Thank you for any advice.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    ifstream inFile;
    inFile.open("2M41.txt");

//Check for error
    if (inFile.fail()) {
        cerr << "Error opening file" << endl;
        exit(1);
    }

string line;
    string line2;

for (int lineNo = 0; getline(inFile, line) && lineNo < 35000; lineNo++) {
        if (lineNo == 247) {
            string str = line.substr(31, 7);
            cout << str << endl;
        }
        }

for (int lineNo = 0; getline(inFile, line2) && lineNo < 35000; lineNo++) {
        if (lineNo == 32351) {
            string str2 = line2.substr(32, 7);
            cout << str2 << endl;
        }
        }

inFile.close();

return 0;
}
The conditions in your first and second loop are the same, therefore, the second loop will never run.

If you deleted lines 28, 29, and 30, your program would work ( assuming there are at least 32351 lines )
Last edited on