Problems with auto and decltype

Hello,

I'm a complete beginner in programming itself. Being only learning the basics of Python and R for the last couple months and decided to also learn a bit of C++ programming.

I started out with the Tutorial in this same site but I got stuck in the auto/decltype part.

I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 and kate for writing the source code.

This is the code:

// random program
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
  int zero = 0;
  auto nothing = zero;
}

First I tried compiling it with g++:

g++ random.cpp -o random
random.cpp: In function ‘int main()’:
random.cpp:8:8: error: ‘nothing’ does not name a type

After some research on these forums:

g++ -std=c++11 random.cpp -o random
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option ‘-std=c++11’

And lastly I tried something I saw in this post(http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/unices/116129/) but again it failed:

g++-4.8 random.cpp -o random
random.cpp: In function ‘int main()’:
random.cpp:8:8: error: ‘nothing’ does not name a type
   auto nothing = zero;
        ^

I'm out of ideas. I'm sure there is a simple solution for this problem but I'm rookie at both C++/programming in general (I'm a biochemistry student), as well as an Ubuntu user (I feel it to be very powerfull but I'm still not completly comfortable with the OS).

Sorry for the long post and hope it doesn't break in rule of the forums. Thanks anyway.
auto is a storage class specification, like static, register, or extern. It isn't a type, so you can't declare something of type auto. You can use it on any type, like so: auto int nothing;. It really isn't necessary to use it though, because it is assumed by default that all variables have automatic storage duration unless specified otherwise.
Last edited on
I'm following the tutorial on this very same page and it says that it is a type specifer. Indeed I've got this same problem when using decltype.