calculates "inf" instead of number

Hello, I just started learning c++ in school and had to make a calculator for compound interest with monthly payments. I wrote up the whole thing and I keep getting inf for the answer. What is usually wrong when you get inf as an answer? I'm using basic math formulas, no loops, ifs, or any of that stuff, just basic math. I can't figure out whats wrong in the program so any help would be great.
I don't think there is any answer to "What is usually wrong when you get inf as an answer?". A starting point would be to check that all variables are initialised (given a proper value) before you attempt to use them.

Beyond that, to give any answer without seeing your actual code would be pure speculation, I think.
I did have a mix of doubles and ints, but got rid of all the int values because I thought that might be the problem....
Heres my code... or most of it

double fValue;       //Variables
   double deposit;
   double time;
   double irate;
   double icompnd = 12.00;

cout << "Enter Amount Needed: ";
   cin >> fValue;

cout << "Enter Interest Rate per month: ";
   cin >> irate;

cout << "Enter duration(in months): ";
   cin >> time;

time = time/12.00;
   irate = irate/100.00;

deposit = ((fValue * (irate/icompnd)) /
              ((1.00 + pow((irate/icompnd),(icompnd * time))) - 1.00));

cout << "Monthly Deposti Amount: " << deposit << endl;
Last edited on
It looks like there is a divide-by-zero which gives infinity as the result. But it isn't directly obvious.

I used these values:
fValue = 1000
irate = 2
time = 24
(I don't know whether these values are sensible)

Then we get this: pow((irate/icompnd),(icompnd * time))
= pow(0.1666666667, 24)
= 2.11042533E-19

Now if we evaluate the rest of the denominator:
(1.0 + 2.11042533E-19) - 1.0
= 0
No idea why you would want to add 1 and then subtract 1, but because of the limited precision of the floating point type, this evaluates to zero. Anything divided by zero gives infinity.