Breaking a picture into pixels

Hi i'm pretty new to C++, I've read tutorials and books which all only taught me the usual Hello World to Object Oriented programming, now with the knowledge i got from them i can't come up with anything useful to program.

I thought of making some kind of picture editing program that takes a picture (JPEG/GIF/whatever) and breaks it into pixels so that you could for example make it darker or whatever, the question i have is:

Where do i start if i want to make a useful program? what do i use to get useful jobs done?

Are there libraries or something that does this stuff?

Irrelevant question: are there any tutorial on how to use data files? files that are not .txt to store data. all i've learned this far is to store data in a .txt file but its neither secure nor practical or flexible.
Last edited on
Essentially, image formats come in two flavors : compressed and uncompressed (raw). The same can be said about audio formats.

As you might suspect, image formats which 'compress' have a smaller file size footprint at the cost of image quality. You'll end up with a more or less decent approximation of the original image. An example of this would be the .jpg format.
It's important to note that the .png (Portable Network Graphics) format supports lossless compression. It reduces the file size without a loss of quality.

It follows that uncompressed image formats represent the original image in full detail without any loss in quality. One example would be .bmp (bitmap), which also happens to be the format I recommend you start exploring to get familiar with the world of image processing.

Before I go into bitmaps, let's briefly address what all image formats have in common.