Just started out learning C++

Hello. I'm new to these forums much like I am to C++. I'm likely to have many novice questions, and I apologize in advance for them.

So, I'm just starting out with some beginner code - cout << "Never fear, C++ is here!"; - and I have already encountered what I suspect is a problem.

I'm using Microsoft's Visual Studio compiler and I copied the code exactly as it is shown in my book. When I press "build" it initiates like it is running, but everything closes and nothing happens. When I click Debug it also closes the whole program.

I'm not sure what is happening here. Does anyone have a clue?
closed account (z05DSL3A)
Try going to the menu bar and under the Debug menu select Start without debugging. The likelihood is that the command window closes after your program finishes, Start without debugging will hold the window open so you can see the results.

If this is the problem, read this article :
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/articles/7312/

PS. Welcome to the forum.
Last edited on
Yeah, that didn't work either. I will read the article, though I'm not sure if I will benefit from it. I'm a newbie, afterall. I'll see what I can glean from it.
Last edited on
Can you post the full code? If you use the code tags it will be displayed neatly, i.e. type [code], then paste you code, then close the tag with [/code].

Out of interest, what version of VS are you using and what book?
#include <stdafx.h>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main() {
	cout << "Never fear, C++ is here!";
	return 0;
}                                                    
Last edited on
you can use system("PAUSE");
before return 0;
Good grief, where do you people come from?
Please system("read the link Grey Wolf posted") before you return 0;
Last edited on
Pirateshaveparrots,