Open and Read file question?

closed account (480jb7Xj)
Hi! I was just wondering if I could get a little direction on my final project. I'm a super noob so apologies beforehand!

A little back story: I work in a blood center that supplies blood product to local and regional hospitals. These hospitals only accept product that have a specific minimum outdate (expiration date). It varies from 7/10 days to 2/3/4 week outdates. We currently use an archaic system where I look at an Excel file that contains minimum dates they take and I look at a calendar on the board and figure out from there.

In my program you should be able to enter the current day's date and the hospital code that is being sent product. It will then output the correct minimum expiration date they are able to take.

My question is, is the best way to do this to open and read a file? If so, how should I gather the data? At first I thought separate the hospital into their own files by outdate, but that's quite a few files. Will it work if I gather it all on one document? I also don't want to write to a new file, I just want it to pull the data from the file and create an expression that will calculate the correct date. Is this plausible or am I making up something that won't logistically work??

To be honest, I think I might've bit off more than I could chew. This C++ class is only an intro to, and we've only briefly touched on open/read/write files.

Thank you! Any suggestions are appreciated. And if you have any specific links that my be helpful, I will forever be in your debt.
Hello suzernator,

This sounds like something I first wrote when I started with C++.

I would start with looking at the Excel file when Excel is running. Write down what information is there. From this it will give you an idea of what you will want in your program.

At some point you will need to save the Excel file as a CSV, (Comma Separated Value), file for the program to work with.