How to read files in alphabetical in the local directory in Linux using C++

Hello,
I am new to Linux and is wondering how to read all files in the ./ directory (i.e. local) directory in alphabetical order in C++. I am aware of opendir() but how do you state that you want to read from the local directory. Any advice will be greatly appreciated!!!
readdir() gives you the directory entries in the order you get them. If you want to sort them you must do that yourself once you get the names.

opendir() takes as argument the path to the directory you want to open.

#include <algorithm>
#include <string>
#include <vector>

#include <dirent.h>
#include <sys/types.h>

// read_directory()
//   Return an ASCII-sorted vector of filename entries in a given directory.
//   If no path is specified, the current working directory is used.
//
//   Always check the value of the global 'errno' variable after using this
//   function to see if anything went wrong. (It will be zero if all is well.)
//
std::vector <std::string> read_directory( const std::string& path = std::string() )
  {
  std::vector <std::string> result;
  dirent* de;
  DIR* dp;
  errno = 0;
  dp = opendir( path.empty() ? "." : path.c_str() );
  if (dp)
    {
    while (true)
      {
      errno = 0;
      de = readdir( dp );
      if (de == NULL) break;
      result.push_back( std::string( de->d_name ) );
      }
    closedir( dp );
    std::sort( result.begin(), result.end() );
    }
  return result;
  }

Online documentation often gives good example code. For example:
http://www.opengroup.org/onlinepubs/007908775/xsh/opendir.html

Hope this helps.