Floats

I just got called during my vacation because someone didn't get the memo that if you have a flow of data like this:
A --double-> B --u64-> C --double-> D
A --double-> D
If D tries to compare the values it got from A and from C, there's basically zero chance they're going to be exactly the same. I think it's amazing how some mistakes keep getting made again and again.
Last edited on
Ouch.

Some really bad coding-fu skills there. The "someone", helios, not you.

Makes me feels not so bad about being self-taught. :Þ
its easy to scramble something like that, Ok, its forgivable and so on.
But the compiler draws you a map and warns you that you did something stupid there.
Then you test it, and it does not work, and it becomes a 'my furst program no work' level issue deserving of a dressing down.
Well, the thing is, A, B, C, and D are all separate systems in different technologies connected by various mechanisms. Two of those interfaces are JSON APIs.
IMO it's not forgivable to use double in a system that handles money. What's funny is that this is a design error on the client's systems, and they were checking the values from C to make sure we didn't muck them up. I told them they have two choices: either they remove that check, or they fix their code.
At least you caught it. Yea, double and money is more serious than just goobering up a few methods, esp if $ is involved.
> I just got called during my vacation
the nerve
Some people -- well, a person -- have problems with boundaries here. Next time I take a week off I might just keep my phone offline throughout. If people can't respect boundaries I'm okay with enforcing them. I always postpone my vacations to keep my projects from being late and in the end it doesn't get me anything.
That was one of the first problems our professor gave us in CS 101. I had already been coding for some time when I attended the class, so it was interesting to see how people unfamiliar with the problem tried to solve it.