Multithreading / Newbie-problems

Hello all,

the situation is the following: As an non-professional coder, i've a quiet huge application (Windows / OpenGL / wxWidgets) that is working, but it would be good to implement some multithreading.
One of my problems is, that i'm not common with all the compiler-settings so that whenever i change the setup i.e. to replac a library by a newer version, this leads to problems.

I'm working with:
Windows 10
Code::Blocks
Mingw32 (mingw-w32-bin-i686-20180726)
wxWidgets 3.1.2

Concerning mulithreading, i think, c++11 std::thread (that i would probably prefere) or OpenMP seem the best solutions, but with both i get linking-errors. For OpenMP the linker reports a missing file "libgomp.spec" and for std::thread it reoprts: 'thread' is not a member of 'std'.

I tried around a lot with different possible solutions that i found on google (like i.e. trying another compiler-suite), but nothing worked. Only the error-messages changed, like i.e. in one case some missing OpenGL-headers. So obviously i need some help to find the solution...

Thank you,
Frank

std::thread it reoprts: 'thread' is not a member of 'std'.
I don't have experience with OpenMP, but as far as std::thread goes... well it opens up a can of worms.

First, before trying anything else, just make sure you have -std=c++11 as a compiler flag. But if you already did that, and that doesn't magically fix things...

The issue is, some versions of MinGW do not have std::thread implemented.
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/37358856/does-mingw-w64-support-stdthread-out-of-the-box-when-using-the-win32-threading/
(I assume this applies to both mingw32 and mingw64)

The answer in that link (https://stackoverflow.com/a/37358960) suggests using mingw-std-threads headers: https://github.com/meganz/mingw-std-threads

Here's some other CPP.com links about std::thread, I assume it's the same issue.
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/169434/ (See posts by JLBorges and Duthomhas)