const reference to temporary variable

Hi there,
I'm a newb C++ programmer. I was checking out this article on const reference to temp variable https://blog.galowicz.de/2016/03/23/const_reference_to_temporary_object/

In the article they used
'
int return_int_ref() {
int a {123};
return a; // Returning a copy now, see return type
}

int main() {
const int &int_ref {return_int_ref()}; // is now const

std::cout << "Some stack overwriting intermediate print\n";

std::cout << int_ref << '\n';
}

So, is the int_ref creating a new memory space, copying by value and then attaching a reference? Or is it actually referencing to the variable a(inside return_int_ref).

Can't we just do int int_ref { return_int_ref() }; , and make others take reference of it? Isn't this the same thing??

Last edited on
You call function return_int_ref(). When a function is called, space is allocated from stack for the parameters, return value and local automatic variables of the function.

This function has one int local variable (a) and int return value. I can't tell whether compiler optimizes those to one int (and thus avoids copy from 'a' to return value). Memory for at least one int is definitely allocated. Lets call it UT (unnamed temporary).

The main() thus has a line:
const int& int_ref { UT };
where the reference int_ref is bound to UT.
Due to the const reference the lifetime of UT extends beyond this statement (like UT were automatic variable in the scope of function main() ).
My advice is "don't do that." :)

Yes, the compiler sometimes will extend the lifetime of a temporary, but you should only rely on such an esoteric feature when you absolutely must, and then, you should have plenty of comments explaining what's going on.

As a new C++ programmer, there are many other features that you should worry about before this one.

Just my opinion, of course.
The code you show would presumably be compiled as if you said:

const int int_ref {return_int_ref()};