No matching function call

Hey guys,

I am trying to implement a hash map I am using the chanining method for collisons ie all buckets point to a linked list of key value pairs,

anyway this implementation isn't the best but it's my first time implementing it, and that will be for a later question,

but for now I am getting an error that I just can't figure out

Hashing\main.cpp|85|error: no matching function for call to 'List<Pair<std::basic_string<char> > >::addNode(std::basic_string<char>&)'| 

it says there is no matching function call BUT shouldn't the compiler handle this through templating and create an overloading function of this type, I've checked my code but fail to see why the compiler is complaning

thanks

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int compression(int hash,int size){

if(size % 2 == 0)
    size++;

return hash % size;
}

int hashCode(string str,int bucketSize){

int g = 31;
   int hash = 0;

for(int i = 0; i < str.size(); ++i)
      hash = hash * g + str.at(i);

return compression(hash,bucketSize);
}

template <class T>
struct Pair{

string key;
   T element;
};

template <class T>
class Node{

public:
      Node* next;
      Pair<T> pair;

Node(Node* next,Pair<T> pair): next(next),pair(pair){}
};

template <class T>
class List{

public:
       Node<T>* head;

List(){ head = NULL;}

void addNode(T element){

Node<T>* newNode = new Node<T>(head,element);
           head = newNode;
       }

Node<T>* search(string key){

Node<T>* current = head;

while(current != NULL){

if(current->pair->key == key)
                return current;

current = current->next;
          }
         return NULL;
       }

bool isEmpty(){ return (head == NULL);}
};

template <class T>
class HashTable{

public:

static const int size = 100;
    List<Pair<T>> arr[size];

HashTable(){ }

void add(T element){

const int compressionMap = hashCode(element,size);
       arr[compressionMap].addNode(element); // problem here
    }

T find(string key){