Reading PPM format images

I’m fairly new to C programming and I’ve been trying to figure out how to do this for 6 hours without any success.

I’m trying to read this PPM format image, which contains an ASCII header followed by binary pixel data. The header consists of something like this:

P6
650 652

P6 indicates that it is a PPM image. The next two fields are the width and height of the image. The last field gives the maximum pixel value. At the end of the header is a \n and then the binary pixel data. The image is in color so there are three bytes (red, green, blue). The goal of my readPPM function is to return the pixel data in a one-dimensional array of unsigned chars, plus the width and height of the image. The goal of my writePPM function (I haven't done anything for that function yet) is to write the PPM format image to an empty file from the given information returned from my readPPM function. I'm still not sure how to make this program work so I don't store the 650 in width and 652 in height. I'll worry about that once I can actually read and write the text files.

Update: I've successfully stored the header (P6, 650, 652, and 255)) in their right variables (I know because I tried printing their values and they came out right). My output is shown below. I was wondering what those nonsense characters below the maximum were. Are those the binary pixel data? If so, then I just need to write my writePPM function.

Output:
PSix: P6

Width: 650

Height: 652

maximum: 255