how good is your C++?

Pages: 12
how good is your C++? Plus how could you rate yourself.

I'm currently at the state where I've realised that C++ is impossible to perfect and that proficiency/how good you are is only limited/measured by the type of problems you try to conqure. So far I would say that I'm an expert at understanding C++ syntax and I fully know that its different from being able to harness the language proficiently (but again thats limited by what you try to conqure).

I'm now hearding to the botomless pitt of C++ perfection, and I'm at the very beginning. What stage would you call this?
Last edited on
I recall reading that Stroustrup rates himself around 6 or 7, out of 10.
I believe that one shouldn't be rated by himself. Let others decide how good are you.
If somebody rates themselves a ten, they must be the compiler.
Ha. I've yet to see a C++ compiler without any bugs.
Wow. Good question. Seems impossible to answer, though.

C++ is constantly growing with additional libraries. If someone is particularly proficient with OpenGL libraries, would that be considered a representation of their C++ skills? Libraries almost abstract from the language itself, so it's a difficult one to call.

I'll answer this the only way I can see fit. On a scale of one to ten:
srand(time(NULL));
int my_skill = rand()%10 + 1;
Last edited on
Let's just say this:

srand(time(NULL));
int my_skill = rand()%10 + 1;

I don't know what that does.

Classic Fumbles =^_^=
@iHutch105: JLBorges would deduct points for that!
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/63907/
I would get a slap on the wrists, wouldn't I?

Let's hope I'd get away with it as I didn't indicate the degree/level of 'randomness' involved.