Creating a Rogue-Like Game

Hey, I'm fairly new to C++, although not a complete newbie which I took a basic class for C++, but I was wondering if it is a good idea to start trying to make a roguelike game, as a first game attempt. If you dont know what a roguelike game is, there is a game called Rogue that was made back in 1980. It's public domain I believe so it should be a quick and easy download if you dont know what it is. There are also games like this that have the same interface with ASCII characters, random dungeons generation and such, like Dwarf Fortress, NetHack, ADOM, Angband, among others.

I was just curious on if this is a good starting point to try to make a game like this, and any tips on what I should do or how to get started is welcome. Or am I trying to aim too high already?
Yes, that is a good starting project. As long as you keep it simple. Trying to make something as complex as ADOM would be really tricky, but a very basic roguelike is a terrific first project.

I don't recommend the ASCII route. Personally I think you're better off diving right into graphics. There are game libs around that make it pretty easy. I often recommend SFML:

http://www.sfml-dev.org/

It can be a little tricky to set up, but once you have it running, it makes graphics, input and audio a cinch.
I personally prefer playing roguelike games with ASCII rather than graphics. But at the same time I think I see why you wouldnt recommend it. Especially with all of those crazy input symbols, it would probably be hard to keep up with. I appreciate the input so far...

More comments are welcome, always :)
I don't recommend it for a number of reasons.

- The console isn't designed for that kind of thing. In some ways doing this in the console is more difficult.
- If you're interested in game development you'd want to learn how to use a graphic lib anyway
- The console has limitations that other libs don't.