Weird default constructor

Pages: 12
I am trying to write a tic-tac-toe program using a class, and I got this example off a different internet forum, but it won't compile. Instead, it gives me this error:
In file included from tictactoe.cc:5:
./tictactoe.h:31:14: error: expected '('
: squareArray{'1','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9'},
             ^ 

Here's the line of code that it's talking about:

// This looks really odd-I've never seen anything like it before.
// A friend suggested it might be an intentional error, and his reason was
// "script kiddies." I'm no expert, but I think it would be hard to use a 
// simple tic-tac-toe program for hacking??? 

TicTacToe::TicTacToe()
  moveCounter(0)
{
}

It's also giving me this error:
In file included from tictactoe.cc:5:
./tictactoe.h:31:51: error: expected unqualified-id
                                                  ^   

on the same line of code.
Can anyone tell me what is going on here? I've never seen anyone initialize a default constructor like that before.

Thanks!
max

Edit:
I'm wondering if he meant to put squareArray inside the constructor, along with the call to moveCounter...
Yeah, Im pretty sure thats it, because moveCounter and squareArray are both defined in the class.

private:
      char squareArray[9];
      int moveCounter;

That's weird that it's a c-string but he initialized it with a bunch of integers...maybe it would be better as an array of ints. Also, just noticed, he forgot about the null terminator!!
Last edited on
This is the same as your last problem.
You need to learn to compile as C++11.
I think it's the way he wrote it. Is that a valid default constructor?

Edit:
I guess it is??? I compiled it and set a -std=c++11 flag, and it compiled! Now to test it...

Edit 2: