Vector of queue pointers

I am wondering if someone could tell me if it is possible to set up a vector of queue pointers (using STL containers) and how I would go about doing this. I am new to using STL containers, and I'm having trouble figuring out how I would access each vector, and in turn, how I would access each queue. I want to use the vector to store multiple queues.

How would I go about setting this up and inserting a numerical value into the first queue located at the first position in the vector?

Is there a particular design reason why it needs to be pointers instead of just complete objects? If they are pointers, who is responsible for the memory?

But to answer your question, something like...
// Example program
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <vector>
#include <queue>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    queue<int> q1;
    vector<queue<int>*> queues;

queues.push_back(&q1);
    queues[0]->push(42);

// Access first element of first queue
    cout << queues[0]->front() << '\n';
}

... how I would access each vector
I assume you mean, each vector element? Vectors can be indexed in O(1) time with the operator[], but queues can't.
Last edited on
Ganado,
containers of pointers can be very powerful. Not talking dynamic memory, but say you had a large data list or tree of data and the user needs to sort it a variety of ways .. By name, by number, and by city or something like that. If you had a container of pointers back to the real data, like a vector, you can re-sort it each way efficiently (just sorting the pointers, swapping only integers internally) whereas the full objects are heavy to copy/swap etc. Same for loading up a queue ... if the queue is just managing existing items for something, like a task list of known tasks (go 200 yards, turn left, go 200 yards, turn left, ...) or whatever you can just have a queue of pointers back to the hard objects and its lighter/faster/etc.