Encrypt/Decrypt File with Crypto++

I have found this two functions in a post.

void EncryptFile(const char *fin, const char *fout, const char
*passwd)
{
    FileSource f(fin, true, new DefaultEncryptor(passwd,
        new FileSink(fout)));
}

//And to decrypt:

void DecryptFile(const char *fin, const char *fout, const char
*passwd)
{
    FileSource f(fin, true, new DefaultDecryptor(passwd,
        new FileSink(fout)));
}

I have incorporated them into my project and they've been working as expected.
However, I was wondering how secure is the encryption type used there. Or another way(better or not) I could do it.

Also, I am a complete beginner to cryptography and I am not sure how they work. If some could give me quick explanation about it, maybe exemplifying with the code above, I would appreciate. Thanks
Last edited on
The DefaultEncryptor in the Crypto++ library (current versions) uses SHA256 and AES.
https://cryptopp.com/docs/ref/struct_default_encryptor.html

SHA256 and AES are widely used in mainstream cryptographic applications.

SHA256: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SHA-2
AES: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Encryption_Standard

> I was wondering how secure is the encryption type used there.

Crypto++ wiki:
Note: if your project is using encryption alone to secure your data, encryption alone is usually not enough. Please take a moment to read Authenticated Encryption and consider using an algorithm or mode like CCM, GCM, EAX or ChaCha20Poly1305.
https://cryptopp.com/wiki/Advanced_Encryption_Standard

I hate to break it to you, but the encryption isnt in your code, its hidden in the f function more likely the DefaultDecryptor function. Without researching those online or having the code for them, I can't comment on it much. Thankfully JLBorges bailed me out already!