Change the arguments of a function depending on template?

I'm very new to C++ so I'm curious if this is possible. I'm building a little module to control some lights of mine. I have an enum called "ControllerTypes". It holds three types "CONTROLLER_FASTLED", "CONTROLLER_ADAFRUIT_NEOPIXEL", "CONTROLLER_CALLBACK".

I have a class "CMagicLight" which has a static member "setup" with a template, like this:
typedef enum {
    CONTROLLER_FASTLED,
    CONTROLLER_ADAFRUIT_NEOPIXEL,

CONTROLLER_CALLBACK,
} ControllerType;

class CMagicLight
{

public:

CMagicLight();

static CLightController &setup();

template<ControllerType cT> CLightController &setup() {
            return setup();
        }
};

Currently setup has no arguments but that is what my question is. Depending on what the user choses the controller type to be is it possible to get the arguments of setup to change? For example:
If the user selects: CONTROLLER_FASTLED, "setup" should accept either:
- pin
- numLeds
- type
- leds
OR
- (arguments of type) CLEDController
If the user selects: CONTROLLER_ADAFRUIT_NEOPIXEL, "setup" should accept either:
- pin
- numLeds
- type
OR
- (arguments of type) Adafruit_Neopixel
and so on for the callback and others in the future.

Thanks, Dream.
Last edited on
We can implement it as a variadic template and then use tag dispatching to select the right overload of set_up().

Here is a skeleton of the idea; this may not be easy for you to digest if you are very new to C++.

enum ControllerType {

CONTROLLER_FASTLED,
    CONTROLLER_CALLBACK,
};

// convert the value of the enum to an empty tag type: it has nothing in it
// however, for each ControllerType X, the instantiated type enum_to_type_t<X> is unique
// and we can use it to select the appropriate (the correct) overload of a function
// (we need to do this because overload resolution is based on types, not values)
template < ControllerType CT > struct enum_to_type_t {} ;