Passing function pointers to a class without knowing the function signature

Hi,

I am relatively new to C++ and I am working on a personal project for practicing where I need to create a class that can take function pointers with different signatures.

The idea is that each instance of the class will store a pointer to a specific function and can call that function whenever I want.

To give a better idea of what I want, let me explain with a little bit more detail what I am trying to do. The project I am working on is a very basic console game and the object I am trying to create is an object that would store details on each location the player can access in the game.

(DISCLAIMER: I know that most of what I describe later is probably an overkill for a basic console game. I can easily make the whole game in a couple of files using just simple functions and I know how to do that. But the idea here is that I wanted to practice more advanced C++ techniques without having to figure out a complex project. So, since I know how to make a basic console game, I thought it would be a good idea to try and figure out how to achieve the same result but with more advanced techniques)

One of the details that I think should be stored is what happens in each location, basically the text that is output to the screen describing what happens and prompting the user to take action.

Since this would be different for each location, I can't just declare and implement a function in the class.

One way of solving this issue is to create a base class with a virtual function and then implement this function in a series of derived classes, each defining a new location.

The problem I have with this approach is that it makes each location a class that can be inherited further and instanced, which I don't need as I will only have 1 instance of each location.