Working with vectors

I am new to C++ but not programming.

I am currently working from an old FORTRAN piece of code, which handled vectors in a slightly different manner to C++ (actually, considerably different manner).

Anyway, I have 2 vectors (x and k), both with 4 elements.
I have a value (float at present) h.

I want to do this: h * k
And: x + k/2

I took this approach...

for (int i = 0; i < k.size(); i++) {
        k.at(i) = h * k.at(i);
        k.at(i) = x.at(i) + (k.at(i) / 2);
    }

This works but is there a more efficient approach?
What do you perceive as being inefficient?
You have some container of size N, and you are assigning N things. You can't get better than O(n).

If you know x and k are the same size, you can just use k[i] and x[i] instead of using .at() to access each element.
And you can collapse the two statements.

k[i] = x[i] + h * k[i] / 2;

Turning on optimizations usually allows for SIMD instructions to be generated.
Last edited on
Thanks for the shortening of the expression; that helps.

I was curious if someone screamed "no, you should use..."; hence my question.

I noted there was a transform instruction available and, though this did not appear to return greater efficiency through examples I could see online, I did wonder if it would offer neater code (though, I am currently less interested in that - I just want it to work right now). :)

Anyway, thank you for the reply; very much appreciated.
You can use valarray<> instead of vectors.

They will work more like (modern) Fortran arrays and Python's numpy arrays. In particular, you can write "whole-array" statements very simply and not have to use for loops.

For example
valarray<double> x(N), k(N);
double h;
//Some code
k = x + h * k / 2;   // Whole-array calculation (which doesn't look correct BTW) 

at is notably slower than [], if no one said. Avoid it unless you can't.