Getting a program to either terminate or re-run based on user input

Hi everyone,
I'm still fairly new to c++ and am having issues getting my program to perform another calculation, or to terminate based on user input.
I'd really appreciate the help..
Below is my current code:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

void yes();
void no();

void no()
{
cout<<"Thank You!"<<endl;
}
void yes()
{
goto main;
main:;
}

int main()
{

char yes='y';
char no='n';
char ans= yes ||no;

int a[10];
int bin;
int i;

cout<<"Enter the number to convert: ";
cin>>bin;

for(i=0; bin>0; i++);

a[i]=bin%2;
bin= bin/2;

cout<<"Binary of the given number= ";
for(i=i-1 ;i>=0 ;i--)

cout<<a[i];

cout<<"Do you want to perform another calculation? "<<endl;
cin>>ans;

if (ans=='y')

void yes();

else

void no();

return 0;
}

goto is not a good option.

just use a loop:
do
{
cin >> ans;

} while( ans != 'n')

what happens is that you hit your goto main: which takes the current execution there. The next statement is the end of the function, so it does that. the function yes() ends. Main now ends when yes() returns. C++ isnt totally linear in this way: it calls a function, then it goes back to where it was, so your goto has no effect, it just goes to the end of yes() but in main, its still on the line calling yes(), and proceeds from there.
it may work if you put main: label at the top of main, but I forget how c++ handles a goto outside its scope, and it may not like it.

the best goto alternative is: (but again, this is highly disliked by the c++ community and best practices: you should not loop via goto when a loop will do the job)
main()
{
main:
... code
cin >> ans;
if(ans == 'y')
goto main;
}
Last edited on
I'll try that, thanks
Hello SeanDolla1999,

PLEASE ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS (the <> formatting button), to the right of this box, when posting code.

Along with the proper indenting it makes it easier to read your code and also easier to respond to your post.