do while loop invalid user inputs...

So I am having an issue getting a do while loop to only loop for invalid inputs, and end execution if any of the if statements within the loop are true. Depending on how I setup my if statements the loop either keeps looping the else statement or the way it is setup now it just skips the else statement all together. The main goal for the program right now is to have to user enter a string based on a question and then use that string to access other information, but if it is invalid i need to have them correct it. Keep in my mind I have been programming for a total of 3 months now(beginner). I've searched the best I could. Thanks in advance for any help.

Here is the program so far...

#include <iostream> 
#include <string>

using namespace std;  //introduces namespace std needed to use cout and cin

void lowercase(string&);

int main()
{
	cout << "This program is designed to allow the user to create a table of unit conversions. First you will be given many choices of starting units and ending units.\n" 
	"Then you will be asked to enter the starting dimension(length, mass or time) and a corresponding initial unit and final unit to convert to. Next you will enter the starting value, ending value\n"
	"and the amount you would like to increment. Also, the program will ask for the number of digits after the decimal point for the starting unit and ending unit. After this\n"
	"occurs the table will increment the starting value to the ending value and convert all values from starting unit to ending unit. These values will be displayed in a table.\n";

char continueLoop = 'Y';
	do
	{
	string DIM,invalid,start,end;
	bool userinput;

do
	{
	cout << "\nEnter the dimension of choice(length, mass or time): ";
	getline(cin, DIM);
	lowercase(DIM);
	if(DIM == "length")
	{
		userinput = false;
	}
	else if(DIM == "mass")
	{
		userinput = false;
	}
	else if(DIM == "time")
	{
		userinput = false;
	}
	else
	{