MessageBox and int to string

Up front - 1st post and preview doesn't seem to work, and hope code tags do,

Hope this is not too basic a question, but how does Windows communicate an integer to a user? Converting to a std::string is not hard, but from there, it seems impossible to use an API function to output the string to the window. MessageBox does not seem to be the answer. Just want an informative message to the user here. Any help would be appreciated. I'm kind of new to the API. Thanks!

switch (wmId)							
	{
	case IDM_OPEN:
	{
	if(!g_data->ReadDataFile()) {		
	MessageBox(hWnd, _T("Load of type DATA FAILED"), lpCaption, 
			MB_OK | MB_ICONINFORMATION);
	break;
	}
// tried this
// int ends up in "result", but "result" can't be used anywhere (so far)
//	tconvert << g_data->datacount;	//ostringstream
//	result = tconvert.str();       	//normally std::string

// just hardcode it for now  
	TCHAR result[25] = _T("?? records were loaded.");  

MessageBox(hWnd, result , lpCaption, MB_OK | MB_ICONINFORMATION);
	}
	break;

case IDM_SAVE:

Your TCHAR / _T macros almost certainly default to being UNICODE on the more recent (like this century) versions of visual studio.

Example.
https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsdesktop/en-US/c92bfb01-3dce-450a-ac33-2b9b231f19b8/using-stdstring-stdwstring-in-code-that-builds-for-both-mbcs-and-unicode

The ASCII versions of the Win32 API pretty much died when Microsoft abandoned Win98.
In your commented-out code, is result supposed to be a std::string, or what?
Adding to what salem c said, if your TCHAR is the "wide" char, then you want to use std::wstring.
You could do a fancy sort of typedef to get a "tstring" type, something like:
using tstring = std::basic_string<TCHAR>;
But it might be better to just stick with Windows "unicode".

Edit: Oh wow, I didn't realize I was just repeating what was in salem c's link.